“Can I not do with you, Israel, as this potter does?” declares the Lord. “Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, Israel” (Jeremiah 18:6).

Even though we are submitting to the will of God when we accept change in our lives, we often forget the reality of what the Word says: “In all things God works for the good of those who love Him,” and we focus on the situations that rob our peace and keep us awake at night, and yet seem to be inescapable.

I have come to realize that allowing change in the different areas of our lives is part of the process we go through as we develop in both emotional and spiritual maturity. It will be impossible to see progress in our lives if we are unwilling to accept change.

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is – his good, pleasing and perfect will” (Romans 12:2).

There are 7 stages a person goes through during a time of change:

  • Shock

When something takes us by surprise, we experience an initial emotional shock.

  • Denial

Disbelief at the reality of the situation; we look for evidence to confirm that what is happening is not true.

  • Frustration

This is when we recognize that things are different – this sometimes makes us angry.

  • Depression

Our mood is low and we experience a lack of energy and motivation.

  • Experiment

We start to think, “What if…? And why not anyway?” This is when there is an initial engagement with the new situation.

  • Decision

We learn how to work in the new situation, feeling much more positive about the whole thing.

  • Integration

We are now a renewed individual – able to help others because of what we have lived through and where we are at now.

I believe that it is possible to skip the stages in between Shock and Experiment if we focus on believing that God is our potter who is constantly molding us to become more like Him every day.

Start typing and press Enter to search